Click to Home
Go To Search
RSSPrintEmail
Help Center
Citation Resolution
You do not have to wait until your court date to resolve your citation. If you would like to appear before your initial appointed court date you may do so for the following circumstances: 
  • To request a continuance (must be at least 72 hours prior to court date / time)
  • To set up a payment schedule
  • Request any of the options below:
    • Pay your fine - Violation will appear on your driving record
    • Driving Safety Course - Violation will not appear on your driving record*
    • Deferred Disposition - Violation will not appear on your driving record*
    • Dismissals - Violation dismissal

*If you adhere to the stipulations as set out in detail below. 

Pay Your Fine
If you wish to pay the fine amount in full by money order if paying by mail, please see the fine schedule, pay accordingly, and sign the back of your ticket to be mailed in. If you choose this option, the violation(s) will appear on your driving record.

Driving Safety Course - Moving Violations
You may ask the court, on or before the appearance date, to take a driving safety course by submitting the pink affidavit given to you by the officer and following the directions accordingly signed and notarized (only if paying by mailing option).

Motorcycles
If you were operating a motorcycle and request to take a driving safety course, you must take a motorcycle operator's training course.

Requests
Request for a safety driving course must be made prior to signing or taking a course. At the time of the request, you must do the following: 
  • Present valid Texas driver's license (CDL holders are not eligible for defensive driving)
  • Present proof of financial responsibility (usually liability insurance)
  • Plead guilty or nolo contendere
  • Pay court costs and an administration fee (fee schedule above)

Prosecution of the traffic offense will be postponed for 90 days to allow you time to complete the course. You are required to attend a driving safety course that has been approved by the Texas Education Agency or a motorcycle operator's course approved by the Department of Public Safety.

Eligibility
You are eligible to request this course if you:
  • Have not taken a driving safety course within the 12 months preceding the date of the offense
  • Are not currently taking the driving safety course for another traffic violation
  • Have not committed the offense of speeding 25 mph over the speed limit
  • Have not committed one of the following offenses:
    • Failure to give information at accident scene
    • Leaving scene of accident
    • Fleeing or attempting to elude police officer
    • Reckless driving
    • Passing a school bus

Course must be certified by the Texas Education Agency. Prior to the end of the 90-day period, you must present to the court a copy of the Course Completion Certificate.